Tuesday, September 18, 2007

Race for the Sky

Recently DC played on a faculty recital at nearby university. The piece he played for was "Race for the Sky" a four-movement work for soprano, violin and piano written in memory of the tragedy of Sept. 11, 2001.

It was a somber, moving piece. The poetry for the different movements is from various New Yorkers who expressed their emotions poignantly and sometimes anonymously in the days following the tragedy. I will include here links to the last 2 movements, as performed by G. Secrest, soprano, D. Cutie, violin, and C. Fuller, piano. Below is the text for the last movement.
Click here to listen to DC's solo, the third movement.

don't look for me anymore (Alicia Vasquez)
don't look for me anymore
it's late and you are tired
your feet ache standing atop the ruins of our twins
day after day searching for a trace of me
your eyes are burning red
your hands cut bleeding sifting through rock
it's my turn, I'm worried about you
watching as you sift through the ruins of what was
day after day in the soot and the rain
I ache in knowing you suffer my death
don't look for me anymore
hold my children as I would
hold my sisters, hold my brothers
hold my children for me
since I can't bring them up with the same
love you gave me
and I'll rest assured
you're watching my children
don't look for me anymore
go home and rest. . .


Nana/Mom said...[Reply to comment]

Beautiful! Chris plays incredibly and with such feeling. Thank you for sharing!